(SATVC) Chapter 18

I stopped trying to figure out his personality. The possibility that I, who did not even attend the academy, would get involved with any character other than the twins was slim. Therefore, I didn’t want to think about it by comparing it with the original novel. I gave up on my thoughts and sat down in response to Sirius’ smile.

​​As I sat down, the twins sat down too. As soon as we were seated, the maids set dessert and black tea on the table.

“It smells good.”

“Hmm. That’s right.”

In response to my meaningless comment, Sirius looked down at the black tea and muttered, ‘Is this a good scent?’

‘Is this your first time drinking it?’

It was a possibility. Sirius, who had been neglected in the Imperial Palace, could not have had an elegant tea time. It must have been difficult to eat three meals a day. I suddenly felt pity for Sirius and gave him my share of the cake.

“Try this, too. Sweet things are delicious.”

The twins dropped their forks, astonished that the sweet lover had yielded her cake. No, I’m also a person who knows how to make concessions.

“Well…”

Sirius, who took a bite of the cake at my suggestion, frowned slightly.

“It’s too sweet for me. I don’t usually eat sweets.”

Sirius, who quickly changed his expression, made an excuse with a polite smile. I can’t believe he hasn’t eaten a lot of sweets. It was a line that evoked my sympathy. It lacks a sense of reality when read in writing, but the unfortunate story of a person I’ve actually met made me sympathetic.

‘I felt it while looking at the palace, but it’s much worse than I thought.’

It’s child abuse! I was seriously confused as to whether I should bring Sirius to the duke’s house. Before, I said not to think deeply because there was nothing to do with the original story, but after 5 minutes of conversation, I changed my mind and thought about how to get Sirius out of the empress’s grasp.

“He’s not even a dog, so I can’t take him just like that.”

“What? A dog?”

Sirius isn’t a dog, and no matter how much I hate it, I won’t be able to take him away easily because he’s a member of the royal family. 

I inadvertently said what I was thinking out loud.

I felt as if they had heard all of my murmurs and I looked at them in an absurd way. Ariel quietly asked me what dog, and I laughed awkwardly.

“No. I suddenly want to raise a dog.”

It was a ridiculous excuse, but fortunately, no one pressed it.

“Do you like dogs?”

“What? Oh, I do like them.”

Sirius asked with a languid smile. That smile was not an imitation of Helios’. A meaningful smile, like when a villain plans a new scheme!

“I see.”

Sirius abruptly stood up and disappeared without a word.

Ariel was surprised to see Sirius disappear in a blink of an eye, and Erial, who noticed what had happened, carefully explained.

“I think he used teleportation…”

“Aren’t you supposed to be unable to use magic in the Imperial Palace?”

Naturally, there is a barrier that prevents the use of magic in the Imperial Palace. When the first emperor built the Imperial Palace, he asked the archmage at the time to set up a barrier to protect the Imperial Palace, so not only the Imperial Palace wizards, but also other wizards were unable to use magic in the Imperial Palace. Only magic artifacts can be used in the Imperial Palace, but he used magic freely. Ariel and Erial must be surprised.

‘What did he say?’

I remembered the parentheses written in the notebook. Sirius was cursed even before he was born, so his body was easy to accept the power of mana and spirits. His body, which had accumulated mana as if breathing, possessed tremendous magical power, so he was able to use magic naturally. Sirius said that it was thanks to his mana that he was able to survive being neglected.

‘You were a genius enough to break through the Imperial Palace barrier.’

He died before his genius was even highlighted in the novel. This part was also described in the scene where the master of the tower mourned the death of Sirius when Daisy graduated and went to the magic tower.

It was amazing to see it with my own eyes. While I was admiring, a small light flickered and Sirius returned. He was holding something with black fur.

“That’s…”

“It’s a dog.”

No. Don’t reply with a smile like that.

When I said I wanted to raise a dog, Sirius teleported to rescue a dog. The dog I wanted was not a real dog, but I was thinking about making you a dog and taking you with me!

But it was already late. The dog panting with his tongue sticking out in Sirius’ arms was cute. It was a dog with black fur and black eyes that resembled Sirius.

“How come…”

“Lady Sernia said she wanted to have it.”

I couldn’t even finish my question. Ariel and Erial couldn’t respond either because they were embarrassed and they just stared at the dog. I had to deal with it here anyway.

“I’m grateful, but I need to get permission from the Duke, so I don’t think I can take him right away.”

Perhaps he understood what I was saying. He wagged his fluffy tail that looked like a Pomeranian, and looked up at me with pleading eyes. 

No. The eye attack is so powerful!

“Are you abandoning him?”

Sirius joined in.

He said in a miserable voice, with the same pitiful expression as the puppy, where did he learn to make such an expression? I dug my own grave. Now, it was difficult to explain that the dog I was talking about was not this dog. In the end, she could not turn away from the two pairs of black eyes.

I was given the dog in Sirius’ arms. The dog in my arms shook its tail violently, and Sirius smiled satisfactorily as if he had never been sullen.

‘As expected, that’s all acting, right? I think I was tricked.’

Why do I feel like I’ve been tricked? I brushed off the uneasy feeling and recalled the main point I had forgotten. After enjoying tea time and saying my greetings, I was going to give it to him, but somehow it got a little twisted.

“Sirius, thank you for saving me last time.”

I handed the puppy over to Ariel for a while and took out the small box I had kept in my arms. Originally, it was wrapped in a pretty ribbon, but it loosened earlier because of Bella’s wounds. I was concerned, but because it was a luxurious box it didn’t look insincere.

‘I’ve only used it a little bit, so it won’t be much different from the first time.’

Just as if the mana contained in the magic stone was used up, it became an ordinary stone, so did the spirit stone. I used a small amount to wet the handkerchief, but Sirius wouldn’t mind. The reason for giving him the Spirit Stone was for mental and physical stability.

‘The power of the spirit makes Sirius feel comfortable.’

It’s like aromatherapy.

Sirius carefully opened the box I handed him. He looked down silently at the spirit stone inside.  You don’t like it? In the awkward silence, I looked intently at Sirius’ expression.

“Thank you. I’ll cherish it.”

Sirius opened his mouth as he closed the box. It was a subtle smile.

‘Is it too weak to help?’

There was a possibility. Daisy was loved by spirits, so many spirits were gathered around her. The power contained in the spirit stone in the rain was too weak. I should have just given him another gift. I regretted it a little, but I can’t take back what I already gave away.

“Please take this, too. Thank you for saving my sister.”

“It’s nothing compared to the price of my sister’s life.”

What Ariel and Erial handed over was a sword. There were no fancy jewels attached, but the pattern crafted on the scabbard was unusual. It looked like a piece of art that the craftsman put all his strength into.

It was a good gift. Swordsmanship was a basic skill for men in the Empire, and it felt like a necessity for academy students. It’s a perfect gift for Sirius who doesn’t know what the necessities are! Well, Helios may have taken care of it before he entered school.

‘That’s why you wanted to come with me.’

Now I understand why the twins wanted to follow me. They also wanted to express their gratitude. I’m touched!

“Thank you.”

I thought it was a much more practical and better gift than the spirit stone I prepared, but Sirius’ reaction was lukewarm. He gave a formal thank-you with the same smile he made when he introduced himself.

‘It’s a bit tricky.’

Sirius, who has no emotions, would not be happy to receive the gift, but I still hoped it would be helpful, and prepared it with the expectation that he would like it a little.

‘It’s a natural result.’

I was a little disappointed, but it was okay because I gained more.

I realized how much the twins value me. That made me feel good enough. I drank lukewarm black tea while looking out the window.

The Duke did not intend for the conversation with the emperor to be too long. I would wait for the duke to come, but the sun was already setting. It was time to go back.

“We’ll be on our way now.”

We chatted moderately and gave our gratitude, so I did everything I had to do. I was going to wrap up the tea time.

“Are you leaving already?”

Am I mistaken or does Sirius’s face seem dejected? I got up, thinking that his facial expression was like an actor’s.

“It’s not polite to stay too late. I’ll see you next time.”

“Next time.”

After muttering the word ‘next’ over and over again, Sirius nodded with a satisfied expression on his face. Ariel and Erial also greeted him in turn and stood up as the maid opened the door.

‘It’s hard to think of going back.’

I’ll have to walk as much as I came. Exhausted even before the start, I didn’t see Sirius’ eyes. The change in his black eyes.

***

I don’t know what the emperor and the duke were talking about, but their conversation didn’t end until we arrived at the Central Palace. The maid announced our arrival to the office, and the Duke coldly refused the emperor’s offer to have dinner and got into the carriage.

“That’s Prince Sirius…”

The duke looked down at the dog in my arms and uttered. Why don’t you finish your sentence? I answered with a nod.

“Yes. Prince Sirius gave it to me.”

The duke suddenly started a staring contest with the dog.

Do you hate dogs?

Credits- RP: Leila PR: Nisa

Published by May

Que

2 thoughts on “(SATVC) Chapter 18

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started